top of page


What does it mean to be psychic?


A psychic has the ability to sense beyond the normal human range of sensing such as the ability to see, hear, touch, taste, and smell. An experienced psychic is usually as comfortable with their extra sensing as the average person is with their ability to taste chocolate or see a flower.




What is psychic awakening?


There are two common types of psychic awakening: spontaneous and deliberate. A third possibility is having a psychic ability for as long as you can remember.



The spontaneous awakening can be very frightening and quite often is the result of an accident or illness. Imagine having your doctor tell you that the head injury you suffered has caused no discernable damage to your brain but shortly afterwards a departed loved one sits at the foot of your bed and converses with you. You are able to see and hear this loved one but no one else can. How startling might that be?



Or perhaps you’re driving down the freeway and suddenly “hear” in your head, “take the next exit” but you ignore it and then discover there is an accident ahead that has stopped traffic and adds 45 minutes to your drive time. You realize that if you had listened to the “voice” you would have avoided that traffic snarl. Then the fact that “something” knew this and alerted you to it frightens you.



What if one day you were very upset about something and suddenly smelled roses and felt as if you were being comforted while no one else in the room could smell the roses?



What if a good friend of yours was coming to visit and a half hour before their arrival you suddenly developed a terrible stomach ache? Then five minutes later your friend called to tell you they couldn’t come because they had a stomach virus and as soon as you heard this information your stomach ache disappeared.



These are all examples of extrasensory perception that some call Psychic and others call Gifts of the Spirit. Although all humans are capable of sensing beyond the five senses we’re familiar with, the majority at this time have not developed an ability to sense beyond the normal range of seeing, hearing, smelling, touching, and tasting.



What kinds of extrasensory perception are there?



These extra senses are called Clairvoyance, Clairaudience, Clairsentience, Claircognizance, Clairaliance, Clairtangency, Clairgustance, and Clairempathy. Usually the person experiencing them does not have a normal physical stimulus.



For example, someone experiencing clairgustance has not put any food in his mouth but reports a specific taste.


  • Clairvoyance means clear seeing.

  • Clairaudience means clear hearing.

  • Clairsentience means clear feeling or sensing.

  • Claircognizance means clear knowing.

  • Clairaliance means clear smelling.

  • Clairtangency, also known as psychometry, means clear touching.

  • Clairgustance means clear tasting.  

  • Clairempathy means clear emotion. This usually refers to the ability to clearly sense someone else’s emotion.

Psychic Awakening

Diamond Enlightenment Healing

How do I handle or develop these psychic gifts?


If you find yourself having these experiences, know that you are not alone and that in fact many people work hard to develop these senses. With practice you can learn to experience your extra sensory perceptions or Gifts of the Spirit without fear and set very clear boundaries for when you choose to experience them. 



There are specific exercises and meditations that will tame the spontaneous psychic experiences and these same exercises help those who wish to develop their psychic gifts.

bottom of page